You may have needed a night out with friends after a tough week at work. You all decided to party hard, which included smoking some marijuana and trying a little heroin. Then, you got busted on your way home because you still had some drugs in your car. Now, you’re facing drug possession charges and are afraid. What kind of penalties will you face if a court convicts you?
Penalties for possession of Schedule 1 drugs
In Louisiana, the penalties for possession of Schedule 1 drugs (which include marijuana and heroin) include the following:
- First offense, possessing under two grams: You can spend up to two years in prison and pay $5,000 in fines.
- First offense, possessing between two grams and 28 grams: You will spend a minimum of one year in prison, could face a 10-year prison sentence and you have to pay $5,000 in fines.
- First offense, intent to distribute, under 28 grams: If the court thinks you intended to distribute the drugs in your possession, you will spend at least one year in jail. You could face up to 10 years in jail and will have to pay a $50,000 fine.
- First offense, intent to distribute, more than 28 grams. If you had 28 grams of a Schedule 1, Louisiana courts automatically consider that intent to distribute. You will spend at least one year in prison, could have a 20-year prison sentence and will have to pay a $50,000 fine.
What to do when facing possession charges
If you are facing drug possession charges, you should contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. With an attorney’s help, you could get the charges against you lowered or dismissed. You also can mount a strong defense against the charges, to preserve your freedom.
Because the penalties are stiff, you want to do all you can to get the best outcome when you face drug possession charges in Louisiana.